Four (Alternative) Alternative Careers For Teachers.

So you want to give up teaching but have no idea what to do next? I had a conversation with a friend the other day and we discussed what teachers could do when they no longer teach (I’m not going into the reasons why teachers leave the profession – we all have our reasons). When do we even stop thinking of ourselves as a ‘teacher’ (there are great number of ‘teachers’ on social media who don’t actually teach anymore)?

You’re no longer a teacher when you stop getting excited when the local stationery shop has a sale.

I recently read an article on the Guardian website entitles ‘Five Alternative Careers For Teachers’ and I must admit that I was a little disappointed. They were all pretty boring which is one thing teaching is not.

So I’ve put my own list together (in no particular order).

Life Coach

Let’s be honest, teachers are forever doling out advice on everything from career choices to relationships. We would also offer parenting advice if we could (although I suspect many teachers do). You don’t even need any extra training, although courses are available – many run by Life Coaches who can’t find enough people to coach I suspect.

Writer

Most teachers want to be writers, I think. I’ve done a lot of writing over the past four or five weeks – three articles for a popular weekly educational publication (including a future ‘cover feature’) and I’ve managed to get a publisher ‘interested’ in a book idea. I also email several pitches a week but most of them disappear without a trace.

Of course there are many different types of writing and you might want to dabble in fiction, erotica (?) or write web content. For me, writing represents a natural progression.

Stand-up ComedianGreg_1533329a

It’s no coincidence that Greg Davies used to be a teacher. As teachers we often have to entertain as well as educate. Teachers must have the largest store of crap jokes of any other profession, so why not put them to good use. Let’s face it, we’re used to playing to a tough crowd.

stephen-king-s-it-pennywise-clown-mask-bc-806164

Circus Performer

The National Centre for Circus Arts runs courses all the way up to degree level – how great is that? Again, teachers are entertainers as well as educators – deny this all you want, but how many of us have never played to the crowd?

There’s also Clown School (I suspect my line manager assumed this was where I trained anyway). This is probably a better option for those of us who don’t like heights or who can’t get our feet behind our heads.

So if you’ve given up teaching and pondering your options, become a trapeze artist rather than a purveyor of stationery or if you really can’t make up your mind, become a Life Coach and help other people make up theirs.

I’m Marc; you’ve been a great audience.  I’m here all week (because I have nowhere else to go).

2 thoughts on “Four (Alternative) Alternative Careers For Teachers.

  1. Brian

    Brilliant post. Might I suggest a couple more with an idea of the raionale…..

    Data analyst for MI5 / MI6 / GCHQ … all that useless data with lots of coloured bars and spreadsheets

    Weather forecaster……….in order to determine the likely mood of the kids

    Security / nightwatchman ……..break/lunch gate duty keeping baddies out and even worse baddies in

    Interpreter …… trying to work out what SMT mean from what they say

    I feel that teachers have many skills due to the unbelievable nature of the job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

